Blackened Mahi Mahi

Reasonably easy evening tonight. I had to babysit for the family I nanny for. I consider it babysitting when its outside of my normal working hours when I ” Nanny”. I arrived at work at 6pm to the delicious smell of pizza… and ribs! I was already starving and of course I hadn’t eaten dinner yet, it was way to early for me. I was offered pizza but I turned it down hoping that I was making a healthy decision for my diet HA diet…. I probably would have devoured some ribs but the parents were taking it to their dinner party. Instead I waited until the kids had finished eating everything was cleaned up and ended up eating the piece that Mackenzie didn’t want to eat….don’t you love my restraint?

After all of that I decided to defrost some Mahi Mahi. Being the creative gal that I am I completely winged this dinner and it turned out quite good. I ate it with green beans but I would recommend either eating it with mashed potatoes or sautéed asparagusor both

What you’ll need
1 Piece of Mahi Mahi frozen then defrosted is okay
1 Teaspoon of Siracha hot sauce a.k.a rooster sauce I like it spicy and this wasnt quite enough so if you also like it spicy I suggest adding 1 extra teaspoon
2 Tablespoons of soy sauce
1/2 Teaspoon of garlic
1 Tablespoon of McCormick Montreal steak seasoning YUM
2 Tablespoons of butter

You’ll notice I’m not shorthanding my words like normal.Its because im on an actual computer not trying to post via iPhone. Hooray! Note: If anyone has a lonely computer who needs to be loved I would love it to pieces and cherish it. My Mac pooped out on me at the beginning of the year and I have yet to been able to pay for a new one or see whats wrong with it. Hitting it doesn’t seem to be working.

The Steps

Place siracha, soy sauce, garlic and seasoning in a sandwich size ziplock bag. Zip closed and mix with fingers.

Add the Mahi Mahi to the bag.

Coat Mahi Mahi and let sit for about 15 minutes.

In a large sauce pan Heat 2 tablespoons of butter on High. Add Mahi Mahi and flip occasionally and cook for about 5-7 minutes or until Mahi flakes apart easily with a fork.

Enjoy.

For my Green beans I added them frozen directly to the sauce pan after the Mahi Mahi was removed and added an additional tablespoon of butter. Sautee. I personally didn’t like it because I don’t like green beans that much unless they are canned. Weird I know. If you did this same process with the asparagus untill you could gently pierce it with a spoon I think it would taste delicious.

Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

